Stroll For Epilepsy 2015

Its that time again to bring Epilepsy and all seizure disorders into the light and raise awareness for Epilepsy and all those millions of people who suffer daily from it. My family and I will be participating again this year in the annual Stroll for Epilepsy in Houston, Texas at the zoo on April 11, 2015 to raise money and awareness for Epilepsy. Team Jillian is very passionate about this fundraising event and would love to have your support!

As alot of people already know, I was diagnosed with Epilepsy about four years ago and have since struggled to get my seizures under control with finding the right medicine, dosage, and lifestyle. It is my goal to make it a full year without any seizures, but I am happy to say that currently it has been about five months and I am doing my best to keep going at this seizure free pace. I’m very thankful to be working with THE BEST doctor and hospital staff in the world at Houston Methodist Hospital under the care of Dr. Amit Verma who has and continues to do everything he can to control my seizures and help me find the right medicines for my particular condition in my lifestyle.

Epilepsy continues to be underfunded despite the fact that over 2.5 million people in the U.S. live with Epilepsy and every four minutes someone in the U.S. is diagnosed with Epilepsy. The Epilepsy Foundation of Texas is committed to ensuring that those affected by seizures and Epilepsy live life with dignity, equality, and independence. The Epilepsy Foundation of Texas has been established since 1983 and continues to do everything they can to raise money, awareness, and provide education for patients and families who are affected by Epilepsy. The Stroll for Epilepsy is sponsored by the Epilepsy Foundation of Texas along with other organizations that do everything they can to raise awareness for Epilepsy and seizure disorders and to find a cure and end to all seizures.

By donating to Team Jillian in the Stroll for Epilepsy 2015 you will not only help support me in my Epilepsy journey, but your donation whether big or small will help in so many other ways such as:

-By sending children of all ages to Epilepsy camps to learn more  about living life with this disease.

-Providing clinics for people with no insurance

-Educating people about Epilepsy and seizure disorders.

-Destroying the stigma and negative images society has about Epilepsy.

-Helping people with Epilepsy learn job skills to be able to become employed.

-Art thearpy & other support groups

-Get FIT Texas

-Continued science & medical research to help find the cure & end to all seizures

-Continued advancements in medication, treatments, & surgeries for Epilepsy and all seizure disorders.

During the last four years of my Epilepsy journey I have learned so much about the disease itself, causes, triggers, medications, other treatments, side effects from medications, and how it has changed my life overall. This disease has changed me completely, the way I see my past, present life, and my future. There are so many things that could have been prevented or treated earlier on if I had known what I know now. I hope you will keep that in mind as you consider donating to this great cause and don’t forget that any donation helps, no matter big or small!

Thank you to all who are reading this and all who have been such a big part of my life during this journey. It is such a reassuring feeling knowing that I have been in so many people’s thoughts and prayers. Thank you so much for reading this and considering to donate to Team Jillian in the Stroll for Epilepsy 2015 in Houston, Texas that I am participating in.

Here are the easy ways you can donate towards Team Jillian in the Stroll for Epilepsy 2015:

http://eftx.donordrive.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=donordrive.participant&participantID=24847

Call 888-548-9716 to make a donation over the phone, but be sure to tell them you are donating towards Team Jillian in the Stroll for Epilepsy in Houston, Tx. on April 11, 2015.

Visit my Facebook page, there is a post on the Stroll for Epilepsy 2015 which includes the link to the Team Jillian fundraising page.

Thank you for all your support!

Leave a Reply

